Conquering the Chocolate Castle

Last year was my husband’s 40th birthday.  Unfortunately I was not able to mark this milestone with something special due to work commitments.  So I was determined to make it up to him this year.  He’s a special guy who does all kinds of wonderful things for me and puts up with all manner of bitching, drama, and opinions from “moi.”  He’s always supportive of anything I want to do; of course, he was extra supportive of my effort at making this cake!

When I saw the chocolate castle cake below, I knew I had to make one for his birthday.

But if you know me, you know I don’t do anything half way.  The original cake was just an inspiration…  I started thinking of all the things I could do to make it even better.

Everything is edible, with exception of the cake board base (which is concealed), the flag poles (sucker sticks), and the knight (it’s plastic).  The turrets are sugar cones coated in chocolate and crushed cookies.

The flags are fondant and I painted the shamrocks with food coloring.   

The sides of the castle are covered with chocolate bars – the ones that look like stones are cookies-n-cream.  The mortar is chocolate buttercream.  The rocks around the base ARE rocks… made of chocolate!  If the doors look familiar, that’s because they’re Milano cookies.

The best part is the part you can’t see.  The cake is a sugar-free cake mix and I used Greek yogurt instead of oil, two eggs instead of three.  The filling, however, makes up for it.  It’s bourbon-pecan buttercream and its to die for.  Four layers of delicious cake with three layers of to-die-for filling.

 

Layers of goodness

The cake was served at a small party of friends who gathered to play the card game Munchkin.  The cake drew ooohs and ahhhhhs, cools and wows, and is now legendary.

When I cut it I couldn’t bear to go through the front so I laid siege to the back wall in a surprise attack, leaving the front intact, so the legend could continue just a little  while longer.

And that’s how I conquered the chocolate castle!

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Conquering the Chocolate Castle

  1. Ansrea perkins says:

    That is awesome !

  2. Ted James says:

    You’re amazing. He’s a lucky man.
    Every man’s home is his castle, might as well make it out of chocolate.

  3. Nancy says:

    Amazing!

  4. Lyndsey says:

    That looks soooo good! What a way to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

