You had me at Cheesy…

I have always said that a day without cheese is like a day without… CHEESE.  Oh cheese.  How I love cheese.  Just the word.. c h e e e e e e e s e… no wonder it’s used to get people to smile!!
When I started my lifestyle change to healthier eating I mourned the loss of cheese.  I couldn’t imagine my life without it and I was pretty sad.  BUT I started reading food labels and realized the low-fat versions (not non-fat, never, no, dear lord, NEVER) are pretty darn good and that I didn’t need a fistful of it to satisfy me.  A pinch would do quite nicely.
From a healthy eating perspective, this recipe really appealed to me because the crust is a simple corn tortilla.  The original called for only one but of course when I see a recipe I say, to myself, “Hmmm… how can I make this better?”  So a second tortilla stuck to the first with a little cheese assures the cheesy chickeny goodness will be properly supported.  It also appealed to me because with the chicken, cheese, and eggs, it’s a great high protein meal.

The ingredients are simple to come by and so easy to put together.  What makes this great for weeknight meals is that it uses a deli roasted chicken.  I’ve discovered that for between $5-8, depending on where you get it, you can get a succulent roast chicken that yields enough meat for two pies.  Or one pie and enough chicken to make something else with, like chicken salad, chicken soup, chicken fajitas, or anything that calls for about two cups of shredded chicken.

In this case it IS easy bein’ CHEESY.  Easy as pie!
Cheesy Chicken Chilie Pie
Serves 6
2 large yellow corn tortillas
2 cups shredded 2% cheddar cheese
1 can chopped green chilies
2 cups shredded roast chicken
3 large eggs
1 cup low-fat sour cream
½ teaspoon ground cumin
½ teaspoon dried thyme
S&P to taste
Preheat oven to 350°F.  Coat a 9” glass pie plate with non-stick spray.  Place one tortilla on the bottom of the pie plate, top with a few shreds of cheese, and place the second on top of it.  Layer half the chicken onto the tortilla followed by half the cheese.  Spread green chilies on top of the first cheese layer, then repeat the layers of chicken and cheese.
In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, sour cream, cumin, thyme, and S&P.  Pour the egg mixture carefully over the ingredients, then gently shake the pie plate to distribute evenly.  Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until a butter knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Allow the pie to rest for 10 minutes before cutting into six wedges.
Garnish with additional sour cream, salsa, and sliced green onions.  (And a scoop of guacamole never hurts!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You had me at Cheesy…

  1. Nezeray says:

    This recipe gets my “Picky Eater” seal of approval. 🙂

    James

  2. Teri says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm….this looks delicious!!! I WANT SOME NOW!!!

Leave a Reply

